WLA in South East Asia

  • The South-East Asia Region of the World Law Alliance is one of its six regions. The integrated initiatives will improve the legal justice system in the region and its collaborative efforts with other regional formations. The focus of initiatives will be on

  • Mission and Work


    Governing bodies and policies

    The World Law Alliance mandate is to , and decide on major policy matters. from all Regional Chapters.

    Regional Governing Board

    The Regional Governing Board will be composed of min 25 and maximum 51 individuals professionally qualified in the field of law, each one designated by a Regional Chapter elected to do so by the World Law Alliance.

    The WLA South-East Regional Governing Board is composed of representatives of the Regional Chapters and Associate Members in the Region. Territories or groups of territories within the Region, which are not responsible for the conduct of their international relations and which are not Associate Members, have the right to be represented and to participate in the sessions of the Regional Governing Board.

    Regional Chapters are elected for three-year terms, and the individuals they designate act as representatives and not in their individual capacity. The Board will meet at least twice a year; the main meeting will normally take place in January, with a second shorter meeting in May. The main functions of the Board are:

    • to give effect to the decisions and policies of the World Governing Council
    • to advise the World Law Alliance
    • to facilitate the work of the law Alliance generally.
    • The Secretariat of WLA will staffed by law and other experts and support staff on fixed-term appointments, working at headquarters, in the six regional offices, and in countries.

    The Region will be headed by the Regional Director, who will appointed by the WLA on the nomination of the Regional Governing Board.

  • South East Asia Regional Chapters

    The WLA South-East Asia Region has 9 Regional Chapters:

    1. Bangladesh
    2. Democratic People’s Republic of Korea
    3. India
    4. Indonesia
    5. Maldives
    6. Myanmar
    7. Nepal
    8. Sri Lanka
    9. Thailand